Early Childhood Special Education

Local School Districts and Special Education Cooperatives

Early childhood special education refers to services for children, three through five years of age and their families. These services are provided through local school districts and special education cooperatives, which you can see listed below. You can see a listing of Western Cook County School Districts here. Professionals with training and expertise in special education services implement the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), Part B, by supporting the educational needs of young children and families. Learn about the referral process here

Early childhood special education professionals and related services personnel provide specialized educational services to children with disabilities in a variety of settings and ways to meet the developmental learning needs of children. In addition, families and early childhood providers may request information about appropriate expectations for children’s development.  

Local School Districts

Oak Park School District #97
Early Childhood Special Education Coordinator
260 Madison St., Oak Park, IL 60302
708-524-3032 (ph); 708-524-3014 (fax)

River Forest School District #90
Special Education Coordinator
7776 Lake St., River Forest, IL 60305
708-771-8282 (phone); 708-771-8291 (fax)

Forest Park School District #91
Director of Special Services
925 Beloit Ave., Forest Park, IL 60130
708-366-5742 (ph); 708-366-5761 (fax)

Chicago Public Schools
Office of Diverse Learners Support & Services
School Entry Support Specialists
42 W. Madison, 2nd Floor, Chicago, IL 60602
773-553-1800 (ph) 773-553-1801 (fax)

CPS Early Childhood Office
42 W. Madison, Garden Level, Chicago, IL 60602
773-553-2010 (ph); 773-553-1030 (fax)
Information about preschool programs within the school district.


Cook County Special Education Cooperatives

La Grange Area Department of Special Education
1301 W. Cossitt Ave., La Grange, IL 60525
708-354-5730 (ph); 708-354-0733 (fax)
Serving these communities: Brookfield, Burr Ridge, Countryside, Hodgkins, Indian Head Park, LaGrange, LaGrange Highlands, LaGrange Park, Lyons, McCook, North Riverside, Stickney, Westchester, Western Springs, Willow Springs Districts 53, 61, 62, 92.5, 94, 95, 96, 101, 102, 103, 105, 106, 107.

Leyden Area Special Education Cooperative
10401 W. Grand Ave., Franklin Park, IL 60131
847-455-3143 (ph); 847-451-4892 (fax)
Serving these communities: Elmwood Park, Franklin Park, Harwood Heights, Norridge, Northlake, River Grove, Rosemont Districts 78, 79, 83, 84, 84.5, 85.5, 86, 401.

Proviso Area for Exceptional Children
1000 Van Buren St., Maywood, IL 60153
Early Childhood Services
708-338-3250 (phone); 708-338-3253 (fax);
Serving these communities: Bellwood, Berkeley, Broadview, Elmhurst, Forest Park, Hillside, Maywood, Melrose Park, Northlake, Stone Park, Westchester Districts 87, 88, 92, 93.

Support a strong start and a bright future.

We champion high-quality early childhood care and learning experiences and support for families so all children develop their full potential.